Weekend Update

16 Sep

Pretty good weekend here in the OP. Kept busy but sure didn’t seem like we did much. Last year we attempted to find acorns for some fall decor but we started too late in our hunt. This week we happened to notice some full acorns laying around and thought it would be a good idea to grab them while we can (before those darn squirrels get to them!) I wanted to know the best way to preserve and use the found acorns so I did what everyone in the world does, I googled it… This is the first link I found and I went with it..

So Friday we headed out for a nice evening walk (weather was AMAZING!) and were on the hunt!

IMG_1588

After collecting and cleaning we needed to kill off any bugs that might have made their way in, so we baked them for a couple hours at 200*. I didn’t realize that baking them would smell so good!

IMG_1589

After that the caps needed to be put back on, so I glued them together while watching football (and drinking beer) in order to maintain my manliness (if I really ever had any..)

IMG_1592

And here is the finished product…

IMG_1595

I went a step further and did the whole vase thing like the blog did and this is my version..

IMG_1596

Anyways, I digress.. Saturday we headed out at the crack of dawn for the St. Peter’s Barn sale (a really big garage sale…) This is the ONLY time Rachel gets up before the sun.. This place is so intense, people literally are lined up outside of 8 different buildings with hopes and dreams of finding a treasure or two..

IMG_0140

We did pretty well, found some neat stuff and got a couple of things we needed. This place would be a lot better if we had a house and needed to decorate and fill spare rooms. They had everything! After a day of shopping it was back to OP for some football and naps. We then headed out to the Ale House for dinner and drinks. Nothing better than Octoberfest on special!

IMG_0142

Sunday was a lazy day – it definitely helped that it rained all day. If you tried to watch the BMW Championship you know what I’m talking about. I was in a very fall mood (with the weather and all) and decided to get pumpkin’ed out.. I ended up making another batch of Pumpkin Spiced Lattes and ‘Jack O’ Lantern’ pancakes.. Both tasted just dandy but the pancake faces could have been better..

IMG_1583  IMG_0143

I also headed out early to pick up a shoulder of pork to attempt at making homemade pulled pork in the crock pot. Total cook time was about 9 hours. It was DELICIOUS!

IMG_0145

All the while it seems like we did a lot, I feel like we were pretty lazy. Lots of football was watched (and rightfully so..), good food was eaten, good beers were drank, and lots of relaxing took place.. We sure enjoyed out weekend – hope you did too! Already looking forward to the next (Heading to IU!!)

Until next time…

2 Responses to “Weekend Update”

  1. Amanda - Small Home Big Start September 23, 2013 at 7:48 PM #

    I’m glad to see that my tutorial worked for you! Love the vase that you made. Great job 🙂

    • Michael October 2, 2013 at 8:46 AM #

      Thank you! We have a bunch left over and I’m trying to figure out what to do with them – still just sitting on the coffee table.. in due time!

Leave a Reply

